Terceira, Azores

The Archipelago of the Azores is composed of nine volcanic islands. They are situated in the North Atlantic Ocean, some 1,500 km west of Lisbon. The exact date of discovery of the archipelago is unknown, but most probably the islands of Santa Maria and São Miguel were discovered in 1427 by the Portuguese navigator Diogo de Silves. There are nine major Azorean islands: Flores and Corvo, Graciosa, Terceira, São Jorge, Pico, Faial, São Miguel, Santa Maria and the Formigas Reef.  Azores main industries are agriculture, dairy farming, livestock ranching, fishing, and tourism. The third stop of the archipelago recognized by Portuguese navigators, probably late 1420’s and early 1430’s, began to be called Island of Jesus Christ. Terceira, as known today, is also referred as “Ilha Lilás” (the “violet” island). It is one of the larger islands of the archipelago, with a population of 56,000 inhabitants in an area of approximately 396.75 km². Angra do Heroísmo, the historical capital of the Azores, is the oldest city in the archipelago, dating back to 1534. Owing to the importance of the historical center in the “maritime explorations of the 15th and 16th centuries”, UNESCO declared the historical center as a World Heritage Site. There are many places on the island worth a visit, especially if you are lucky with the weather, some of the interesting places are: Serra de Coume,  Sao Sebastiao,  Quatro Ribeiras, Porta do Ma Merena,  Ponta dos Biscoitos,  Monte Brasil, Furnas do Enxofre, Angra do Heroismo.

DSC_8097 DSC_8303DSC_8332 DSC_8350DSC_9015 DSC_8973DSC_8796 DSC_8793DSC_8201 DSC_8510DSC_9065 DSC_9178DSC_9095 DSC_9085DSC_9329 DSC_9343