Oman II


The sultanate of Oman can be divided into three climatic zones: the coastal area of the north, in Muscat, subtropical climate prevails. In central Oman, with its deserts and gravel plains, dry climate is dominant. The south from June to September it is a tropical climate under the influence of the southwest monsoon. The predominant image of the Arabian landscape is that of desert, but Oman is much more varied. Salalah is the capital city of southern Oman’s Dhofar province. It’s known for its banana plantations. Huram Sumhuram, also known as Khor Rori, contains the remains of an ancient port city and military stronghold which is located near Salalah. Sumhuram was founded towards the end of the first century BC and became an important trading post for merchants across the Arabian Sea as well as India. Sumhuram’s port slowly silt-up and the site was abandoned by the third century AD. Taqah is a coastal town in the Dhofar governorate; there is a well-preserved castle that was built in the 19th-century. Taqa is famous for its beautiful white sandy beach and coconut trees as well as flocks of birds and turquoise sea.