Malbork castle and the town (also called Marienburg) were named for the patron saint, the Virgin Mary of the Teutonic Order. The castle (under continuous construction for nearly 230 years) is one of the Europe’s largest Gothic fortress. The whole complex is actually three castles in one. This massive medieval fortress was built by the river Nogeć and its red bricks are visible from far. The Teutonic Order, was established during the Third Crusade to the Holy Land in 1190, originally a brotherhood of hospitallers, from 1198 it transformed into a knightly order. The castle was officially designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in December of 1997. Malbork Castle is generally accepted as an architectural work of unique character. Many of the methods used by its builders greatly influenced Gothic buildings in north-eastern Europe. The so called High Castle was the convent of the Teutonic Order. It has a square central courtyard, and it contained living accommodation for the knights. The Middle Castle and the High Castle were surrounded by impressive fortifications and moats. Later on, in the 14th-century, a new Fore Castle was created, and the fortifications were extended. Currently the castle hosts a museum.